Tips to Living Gluten Free

Tips to Living Gluten Free

Whether you have Celiacs Disease or gluten sensitivity, living gluten free isn’t always easy. In fact, it can be downright difficult. It can seem like trying to eat food without wheat, barley, and rye leaves you with very little to eat. But truthfully, a gluten free lifestyle isn’t impossible. You can eat many delicious and wholesome foods and avoid gluten, and we have some tips and tricks to get you started.

  1. Focus on foods that are naturally gluten-free. Instead of thinking about all the breads and pastas you can’t enjoy, think about cooked vegetables, fruits, meats, and ricedishes that are automatically gluten free.
  2. Read all food labels. Get used to turning every pre-packaged food product over and reading the label. Look for mentions of wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, Kamut, or other grains.
  3. Use gluten-free substitutes. The supermarket is filled with gluten-free alternatives, which can be used to make pasta, bread, crackers, cereals, and more. Just keep your eye out.
  4. Remember to avoid certain alcohols. A gluten free lifestyle isn’t just about food. Beers, ales, whiskeys, and other alcohol can contain gluten. Stick with cider, wine, sherry, and most liqueurs.
  5. Ask for gluten free in restaurants. You can definitely eat out. Just make sure you ask for a gluten free menu when available.

To help you stay gluten-free, we have a list of tricky foods that may contain gluten:

  • soy sauce
  • imitation crab
  • licorice
  • seasoning packets
  • natural flavoring
  • BBQ sauces
  • salad dressings
  • hard candies
  • cornflakes and rice krispies
  • chocolate
  • ice cream
  • broth
  • Chipotle’s adobo sauce
  • yogurt and other dairy products such as sour cream
  • miso
  • some fermented kimchi
  • fish sauce
  • oyster sauce
  • mole
  • beverages such as sports drinks or iced tea mixes
  • malt vinegar
  • oats (you must not eat anything with oats unless made with certified gluten-free oats)
  • any fried food (cross contamination is possible)

Check out our Digestive Herbs Tea, Gluten Free!